MEDIA ADVISORY

New York State Commission on Legislative, Judicial and Executive Compensation

Commissioners:
Sheila Birnbaum, Chair
Hon. Barry A. Cozier (Ret.)
Roman B. Hedges
Mitra Hormozi
Gary Johnson
Hon. James J. Lack (Ret.)
Fran Reiter

NYS Commission on Legislative, Judicial and Executive Compensation to Hold Public Meetings on December 14 and 16 on Issues Relating to Judicial Compensation

Date: December 8, 2015

NEW YORK — The New York State Commission on Legislative, Judicial and Executive Compensation will hold public meetings on **December 14, 2015 at 11 a.m. and December 16, 2015 at 11 a.m.** Both meetings will be held at the New York City Bar Association, 42 W. 44th Street. The meetings will be restricted to issues relating to judicial compensation. No public testimony will be taken at the meetings.

The meetings are open to the public and will also be viewable online via a live webcast. The public can also listen to the hearing by telephone. Information on remote viewing or listening will be posted at http://www.nyscommissiononcompensation.org prior to each meeting.

You may contact the Commission by email at nyscompensation@gmail.com or by regular mail at NYS Commission on Legislative, Judicial and Executive Compensation, 64 Beaver Street, Box 454, New York, NY 10004.

The New York State Commission on Legislative, Judicial and Executive Compensation is an independent body tasked with examining, evaluating and making recommendations with respect to compensation for New York State's judges, members of the state legislature and state officials named in section 169 of the Executive Law. The recommendations shall have the force of law unless modified or abrogated by legislation prior to taking effect.

Every four years, beginning June 2015, the Commission is established with seven appointed members – three are designated by the Governor, one by the President Pro Tempore of the New York State Senate, one by the Speaker of the New York State Assembly, and two by the Chief Judge of the New York State Court of Appeals, one of whom serves as chair of the Commission.